I apologize if I haven't used the correct terminology in my question; I'm very new to this subject. iterate for the values of and would depend on whether \left( y_i - \mathbf{a}_i^T\mathbf{x} - z_i \right) = \lambda \ {\rm sign}\left(z_i\right) & \text{if } z_i \neq 0 \\ For example for finding the "cost of a property" (this is the cost), the first input X1 could be size of the property, the second input X2 could be the age of the property. Finally, each step in the gradient descent can be described as: $$\theta_j := \theta_j - \alpha\frac{\partial}{\partial\theta_j} J(\theta_0,\theta_1)$$. r_n-\frac{\lambda}{2} & \text{if} & For completeness, the properties of the derivative that we need are that for any constant $c$ and functions $f(x)$ and $g(x)$, n Our term $g(\theta_0, \theta_1)$ is identical, so we just need to take the derivative | &=& I have never taken calculus, but conceptually I understand what a derivative represents. To calculate the MAE, you take the difference between your models predictions and the ground truth, apply the absolute value to that difference, and then average it out across the whole dataset. Why the obscure but specific description of Jane Doe II in the original complaint for Westenbroek v. Kappa Kappa Gamma Fraternity? Huber loss with delta = 5 Because of the clipping gradient capabilities, the Pseudo-Huber was used in the Fast R-CNN model to prevent the exploding gradients. If a is a point in R, we have, by definition, that the gradient of at a is given by the vector (a) = (/x(a), /y(a)),provided the partial derivatives /x and /y of exist . focusing on is treated as a variable, the other terms just numbers. \phi(\mathbf{x}) a \mathbf{y} Could you clarify on the. In a nice situation like linear regression with square loss (like ordinary least squares), the loss, as a function of the estimated . 0 & \text{if } -\lambda \leq \left(y_i - \mathbf{a}_i^T\mathbf{x}\right) \leq \lambda \\ I must say, I appreciate it even more when I consider